Chasing Secrets

Chasing SecretsChasing Secrets by Lynette Eason
Series: Elite Guardians #4
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Published by Revell on August 01, 2017
Pages: 336
Also in this series: Always Watching, Without Warning
Also by this author: No One to Trust, No Place to Hide, Always Watching, Sins of the Past, Without Warning

 

Publisher’s Summary:

Elite Guardians bodyguard Haley Callaghan may be in South Carolina, but when a photo leads investigators in West Ireland to open a twenty-five-year-old cold case, her life is suddenly in danger. Haley knows how to take care of herself; after all, she’s made a career out of taking care of others. But after an uncomfortably close call, Detective Steven Rothwell takes it upon himself to stay with her—and the young client she has taken under her wing. A protector at heart, he’s not about to let Haley fight this battle alone. In a sweeping plot that takes them into long-buried memories—and the depths of the heart—Haley and Steven will have to solve the mystery of Haley’s past while dodging bullets, bombs, and bad guys who just won’t quit.

Lynette Eason continues her high-octane Elite Guardian series with Chasing Secrets. Book 4 focuses on Haley Callaghan. The set-up is intriguing. The story begins in Ireland as we bear witness to an almost unspeakable tragedy involving a young girl whose family is brutally murdered. She manages to escape with her nanny, but not before seeing her father’s dead body, an image that will become seared in her memory. The next chapter introduces us to the young girl’s grandfather who is presented with evidence that his granddaughter, believed to have been killed in a bus explosion, might have survived. The plot thickens—we discover that the young girl we met earlier was supposed to have been on that bus but she wasn’t. She was home with her nanny. The two violent events—the murders at the family’s castle and the bus explosion—are related. Nobody in the family was meant to survive. But the little girl did and she’s now Haley Callaghan, a bodyguard living in South Carolina.

The set-up is intriguing.

When Haley is first introduced, she’s worried that she is being followed. There’s great suspense upfront since we don’t know what the person following her is up to. I also liked how Eason fills out Haley’s personality, especially her work with children. As each book in the series focuses on a different bodyguard, I sometimes worry about keeping the characters straight. But here my worry is unfounded since the author fleshes out the characters and provides sufficient details about both their inner and outer lives. Haley and Steven display admirable characteristics—heroic selflessness and love for others—and they seem well-suited for each other.

Haley and Steven display admirable characteristics—heroic selflessness and love for others—and they seem well-suited for each other.

If you’ve read the other books in the series, you’ll see that the beginning of this one has a slightly different feel to it with the setting in a castle and the characters speaking with an Irish brogue. But just as I was getting impatient to meet Haley in present-day, the story switched to her perspective and I was able to settle in to enjoy the rest of the story.

The author is very good at action sequences and maintaining suspense. As the story develops, I loved following along with Haley and Steven as they try to solve the mystery of Haley’s past, which is multi-layered and complex. Around every turn, they face new dangers and the stakes are raised, especially when the children are involved. This is a recipe for a great suspense book and Eason executes it very well. Throw in a dash—well, more than a dash—of romance between swoon-worthy Steven and lovable Haley and we have a fantastic romantic suspense novel.

I loved following along with Haley and Steven as they try to solve the mystery of Haley’s past, which is multi-layered and complex.

Fans of Eason’s previous novels as well as readers who enjoy Irene Hannon and Dee Henderson should pick this one up. You don’t need to have read the other Elite Guardian books first. But I’m guessing if you like Chasing Secrets, then you’ll quickly add them to your to-be-read list.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *