My Hope Next Door

My Hope Next DoorMy Hope Next Door by Tammy L. Gray
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Published by Waterfall Press on September 13, 2016
Pages: 320

 

About My Hope Next Door (from the back cover):

Former bad girl Katie Stone can feel the weight of her reputation settle over her as she drives home for the first time in years. Feeling deeply guilty about her past mistakes, Katie wants to do the right thing for once. But the small town where she grew up is not nearly as forgiving as she’d hoped. Despite it all, she’s determined to help her parents cope with her mother’s recent illness, and Katie finds a surprise ally in the man next door.

Asher Powell never minded being the son of a small-town pastor until a recent breakup leaves him wounded by lifelong members of his church. He remembers his new neighbor as a mean-spirited high school troublemaker, but he senses that her newfound faith and desire for forgiveness are sincere.

Through an unexpected friendship, two people from different worlds find peace, hope, and a second chance they never dreamed was possible.

I’m sure everyone has those authors that no matter what they write, you’re going to read it.

For me, Tammy L. Gray is one of those authors.

Having devoured everything Ms. Gray published, I trusted her newest release would be equally enjoyable. I’m not even sure I looked at the back cover of My Hope Next Door before I decided I had to read it. And I’m happy to say, this book is everything it needed to be.

Like her other stories, Katie and Asher are characters who struggle with problems. Real ones. There’s sin, despair, grudges, a wanting to have a better life…. The journey the heroine and hero take may only be fiction, but the hope shared inside their imaginary lives can bring the real world encouragement.

The journey the heroine and hero take may only be fiction, but the hope shared inside their imaginary lives can bring the real world encouragement.

On top of being a new Christian, Katie still hasn’t forgiven herself for her past, especially now that she’s returned home with her unchangeable mistakes following her everywhere. Her family life was never perfect, and she’s knee deep back in it. From Katie’s hording mother to her worn father, the supporting characters are just as authentic as the heroine. I love this about Ms. Gray’s writing. She puts effort into the smallest of details.

From Katie’s hording mother to her worn father, the supporting characters are just as authentic as the heroine. I love this about Ms. Gray’s writing. She puts effort into the smallest of details.

Asher struggles with his own form of forgiveness. He was hurt by those in his church, and I liked that the story didn’t dwell only on how hypocritical churches can be, but that healing can happen if we open our heart to the idea.

My Hope Next Door is more than another second chance theme, it’s a page turner filled with faith, healing, and love.

Fans of Varina Denman’s Mended Heart Series, Julie Lessman’s Isle of Hope, and Kristen Heitzmann’s Told You Series will love this story. And if my review hasn’t swayed you to check out Ms. Gray’s writings, the 1st book in her Winsor Series, Shattered Rose is currently free on kindle.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *